Role Name Party
Chair Sheryll Murray MP Conservative
Co-Chair Andrew Gwynne MP Labour
Vice Chair Lord Goddard of Stockport Liberal Democrat
Vice Chair Lord Black of Brentwood Conservative
Vice Chair Patricia Gibson MP Scottish National Party
Treasurer Layla Moran MP Liberal Democrat



Chair – Sheryll Murray

Sheryll has been the Member of Parliament for South East Cornwall since 2010. Prior to becoming an MP, Sheryll represented Rame on Cornwall County Council. As well as being chair of APGOCATs, Sheryll is a member of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee and a proud owner of her cat Millie.

Co-Chair – Andrew Gwynne MP

Andrew has been the Member of Parliament for Denton and Reddish since 2005. He is the proud owner of four cats (Minnie, Tammy, Jude and Sox) so knows first-hand how cats and other pets bring joy and companionship to families.

Vice Chair – Lord Goddard of Stockport

Lord Goddard was born in Stockport. He was first elected to Stockport Council in 1990, a position he held for twenty-two consecutive years. He was also a Vice-Chair of Greater Manchester Combined Authority and Vice Chair of the AGMA Executive Board. A Board Member of the Greater Manchester Local Enterprise Partnership [LEP] a Board Member of Manchester International Airport, a Board Member of MIDAS.

As a member of the Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue committee for over 10 years, he was the Liberal Democrat spokesperson regionally and nationally on fire matters until 2007. For the last two years I was a member of the Greater Manchester Police Authority and was Vice Chair of Finance.

On 8th August 2014 Lord Goddard was awarded a Life Peerage from the Queen. He is a member of the Secondary Legislation Committee and a member of several All Party Parliamentary groups, including APGOCATS.

Vice Chair – Lord Black of Brentwood

Lord Black of Brentwood (Guy Black) is Executive Director of the Telegraph Media Group and has been a member of the House of Lords since 2010. He has spoken widely on animal welfare issues, and led the first ever debate in the Lords on the welfare of cats and dogs in 2013.

He is a Patron of International Cat Care, and Patron of Cats Protection’s “Black Cat Society.” When not working on animal welfare issues, he is also Chairman of the Royal College of Music, and of the Commonwealth Press Union Media Trust.
He has had five cats in recent years, including the Russian Blue Victoria (pictured).

Vice Chair – Patricia Gibson MP

Patricia was born and educated in Glasgow, gaining an MA (Hons) in English and Politics from the University of Glasgow. She currently serves as her party’s spokesperson for Consumer Affairs.

Patricia first contested North Ayrshire & Arran in 2010, helping to make it the SNP’s fourth most winnable seat in 2015, albeit with a still huge majority to overcome, which she did, with a 23.3% swing, securing a 13,573 majority over the Labour incumbent.

Patricia retained her seat in the snap election of June 2017.

Treasurer – Layla Moran MP

Layla Moran was elected Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon in June 2017.

Murphy is 15 and has been Layla’s cat since University. When a kitten we thought she was a boy, and was named Murphy because she resembles a pint of Murphy’s when on her back. When it was later discovered she was female the name had already stuck. She is well travelled for a cat, born in London she then moved to Brussels then back to London then Oxford. Her favourite pastimes include bending humans to her will, playing with catnip toys and being brushed.



Name Name Name
Sir David Amess MP Baroness Gale Henry Smith MP
Sarah Champion MP Andrew Gwynne MP Jamie Stone MP
Rehman Chishti MP Luke Hall MP Mark Spencer MP
Rosie Cooper MP Ian Liddell-Grainger MP Sir Roger Gale MP
Martyn Day MP Caroline Lucas MP Mark Tami MP
Stephen Doughty MP Andrew Rosindell MP Liz Twist MP
James Duddridge MP Tommy Sheppard MP Neil Parish MP
Rosie Duffield MP Sir Greg Knight MP Bill Esterson MP



APGOCATS to hold AGM on 27th April

APGOCATS will be holding it's 2022 AGM on the 27th April. Also on the agenda will be issues relating to pet theft, attacks on cats and pet travel. The event will be held over zoom, please contact the secretariat for further...

read more

APGOCATS to hold AGM on 18th May

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Cats will be holding its AGM on the 18th May at 10am. The meeting will also be an oppertunity for members to reflect on the previous roundtable on Cats and Rental Properties. This meeting with be held virtually, the zoom link will...

read more

Contact Us

Public Enquiry Point:
Tel: 020 7627 7898

Message Us

Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.

12 + 6 =